The Erasmus+ Program is the action scheme of the European Union to support cooperation and mobility in education. The part of the program that concerns higher education institutions is called ERASMUS (European Action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students). The University of Vienna currently has bilateral agreements with about 370 European universities and can offer students around 2.400 study places at these universities.

What does the ERASMUS program offer? Participating students benefit from a simplified enrolment process at the host university, they receive a mobility grant and are exempt from tuition fees. The courses that are completed abroad can be transferred to the University of Vienna (in accordance with the directorate of studies/Studienprogrammleitung).


Students of the University of Vienna who wish to study abroad find relevant information under Outgoing


Students who have been nominated for an ERASMUS stay at the University of Vienna by one of our partner universities can find information underIncoming.

↗︎   General information regarding the ERASMUS exchange can be found on the website of the International Office


ERASMUS+ - coordinator at our department:

Andrey Klebanov


Institut für Südasien-, Tibet- und Buddhismuskunde
Spitalgasse 2, Hof 2.1
1090 Wien

Office hours: Please make an appointment by e-mail

Access Plan University Campus (PDF)